In Early Years children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum(EYFS)

This is made up of 7 areas of learning.

The areas linked to Literacy are:-

  •  Communication and Language (C&L) 
  • Literacy (Reading and Writing)      


In Key Stage One and Two, children follow the National Curriculum.

The National Curriculum divides English into;


  •  word reading
  • comprehension (both listening and reading).


  •  transcription (spelling and handwriting)
  • composition (articulating ideas and structuring them in speech and writing).

 Spelling, vocabulary, grammar, punctuation

To practise their developing reading skills, Early Years and Key Stage One children take home literacy games, activities and word lists. They are encouraged to take their reading books home each night to share with their parents/carers. This is known as Home/School Reading.

At Key Stage Two, children are encouraged to read widely, and to discuss and write about the books they have read with increasing perception. Parents can provide valuable assistance with this development process.


KS1 Reading Schemes

Early Years

In Early Years we introduce letters and sounds and books that the children can read themselves. The reading scheme we used is: Oxford Reading Tree

These books help the children to build on the phonics work that they do in class each day.

Key Stage One 

In Key Stage One, the good work in Early Years is continued. Reading is taught through: 

Shared Reading - is an interactive reading experience that occurs when children join in or share the reading of a book or other text while guided and supported by a teacher. The teacher explicitly models the skills of proficient readers, including reading with fluency and expression.

Guided reading - is 'small-group reading instruction designed to provide differentiated teaching that supports children in developing reading proficiency'. The small group model allows children to be taught in a way that is intended to be more focused on their specific needs, accelerating their progress.

Individual reading- children read their reading book one to one with an adult.

There is also still a strong emphasis on phonics (letters and sounds)

The main reading scheme continues to be Oxford Reading Tree. Children choose from a variety of books such as Project X,  Non-Fiction and Traditional Tales.


English Websites

Click on the images below to open English website pages.

KS2                           Puffin - Penguin Books

Go on an adventure with Puffin. Videos, games and fun stuff from all your favourite characters. Start your adventure.

FS/KS1                          Ladybird - Penguin Books

Videos, games and activities from all your favourite characters.